St. George Monastery
Over Skyros town, at the top of the hill you will find the monastery of St. George, one of the most important monuments of the island. Originally it was built at 960 but then it was rebuilt at 1600. The monastery is open to the public again from 2015, after being closed for almost 15 years after the earthquake in 2001. The chapel inside the monastery is decorated with rare murals and wooden sculptures.
Over the monastery there is a number of small chapels and the ruins of the ancient castle. The castle area is closed to the public due to damages of an earthquake but it is in restoration, hoping that in the near future it will be again open for visitors.
All over the island there is numerous numerous churches and small chapels, many of them dated back to the Vyzantine era. Some of the most important are Agios Ioannis near the dam and very close to it is Agios Dimitrios . Also Kyra Panagia in Atsitsa, the small chapel inside a rock Agios Nikolaos in Pouria and Five Martyrs near Brooke square.